The annual ABA Bookseller awards recognise the unique role played by booksellers in distributing learning, ideas, and literature to communities across the country. 

The Nielsen Bookdata Bestsellers' Choice Award recognises the Australian new release books our booksellers have selected as their favourite hand-sells.

Congratulations to the ABA Text Bookseller of the Year 2018:

Chris Redfern, Avenue Bookstore

Read more ...

Congratulations to the ABA Penguin Random House Young Bookseller of the Year 2018:

Tim Jarvis, Fullers

Read more ...

The Elizabeth Riley Fellowship honours a much-loved bookseller, publisher and ABA staff member who passed away in 2011 Liz Riley. It recognises Elizabeth's great passion for children's books, most notably the craft of engaging with and selling children's books, and is a tangible way of remembering her. The winner of the $2,000 Fellowship will have an exclusive invitation to attend The American Booksellers Association's ABC Children's Institute in 2020, (date and location details to be announced).

2019 NOMINATIONS will open in March 2019

Read more ...

The Nielsen Booksellers' Choice recognises the Australian new release that booksellers most enjoyed reading, marketing and handselling during the previous year.

We believe it is a special award because it is decided by the people who care enough to personally recommend and put a book in the hands of the reading public. 

This award is proudly supported on the membership's behalf by Nielsen and the ABA.










Kate Sloggett
Conference Manager
phone: +61 (3) 9859 7322
facebook twitter