The ABA Nielsen BookData Booksellers’ Choice - Adult Fiction Book of the Year award recognises the adult fiction new release that booksellers most enjoyed reading, marketing and handselling during the previous year. We believe it is a special award because it is decided by the people who care enough to personally recommend and put a book in the hands of the reading public. 

ABA Nielsen BookData Booksellers’ Choice - Adult Fiction Book of the Year shortlist:

After Story by Larissa Behrendt (UQP)
Dark as Last Night by Tony Birch (UQP)
The Way It Is Now by Garry Disher (Text Publishing)
Devotion by Hannah Kent (Picador Australia)
Once There Were Wolves by Charlotte McConaghy (Hamish Hamilton)
Love & Virtue by Diana Reid (Ultimo Press)


2021 Winner: The Dictionary of Lost Words by Pip Williams (Affirm Press)
2020 Joint Winners: There Was Still Love by Favel Parrett (Hachette Australia) | The Yield by Tara June Winch (Hamish Hamilton/PRH)
2019 Winner: Boy Swallows Universe by Trent Dalton (HarperCollins Australia)
2018 Winner: Nevermoor, Jessica Townsend (Hachette)
2017 Winner: The Birdman's Wife, Melissa Ashley (Affirm Press)
2016 Winner: Reckoning: A Memoir, Magda Szubanski (Text Publishing)
2015 Winner: The 52-Storey Treehouse, Andy Griffiths & Terry Denton (Pan Macmillan)
2014 Winner: Burial Rites, Hannah Kent (Hachette)
2013 Winner: 
The Light Between Oceans, M.L. Stedman (Random House)
2012 Winner: All that I Am, Anna Funder, (Text Publishing)
2011 Winner: The Happiest Refugee, Anh Doh (Allen & Unwin)
2010 Winner: The Kichen Garden, Stephanie Alexander (Lantern)
2009 Winner: The Slap, Christos Tsiolkas (Allen & Unwin)
2008 Winner: Girl Stuff, Kaz Cooke (Penguin Australia)
2007 Winner: Salvation Creek, Susan Duncan (Random House Australia)
2006 Winner: The Secret River, Kate Grenville (Text)
2004 Winner: Joe Cinque's Consolation, Helen Garner (Picador)
2003 Joint Winners: Mao's Last Dancer, Li Cunxin | Death Sentence, Don Watson
2002 Winner: Diary of a Wombat, Jackie French & Bruce Whatley
2001 Winner: Dirt Music, Tim Winton (Picador)
2000 Winner: The Blue Day Book, Bradley Trevor Greive
1999 Winner: Stravinsky's Lunch, Drusilla Modjeska
1998 Winner: The Sound of One Hand Clapping, Richard Flanagan
1997 Winner: Burning for Revenge, John Marsden
1996 Joint Winners: Night Letters, Robert Dessaix | The Cook's Companion, Stephanie Alexander
1995 Winner: The First Stone, Helen Garner
1994 Winner: The Orchard, Drusilla Modjeska

This award is proudly supported on the membership's behalf by Nielsen and the ABA.